Celebrating Spring with Eostre

It may seem funny that on my Arthurian/ Avalonian blog, I decide to post about the Anglo-Saxon Goddess Eostre. Perhaps, you think, she is an odd choice because the Saxons were the ultimate scourge of Dark Ages Britain? Well, we know that there was a comingling of peoples, right? Well, yeah, of course, and I don’t think the Goddesses care about a lot of things that people do. I’ve written here in the past that I include other Celtic deities in my “personal” pantheon and, over the years, I’ve increasingly included a couple of Anglo-Saxon Goddesses, as well. Eostre is the primary Goddess I honor at this point on the Wheel of the Year. She “works well” with Celtic Goddesses and I believe she doesn’t mind being part of an eclectic mix of Goddesses who are actively honored. At any rate, there is a legend that, at some point, Arthur had a Saxon lover or wife.

Esotre by Thalia Took

I feel that Eostre is an embodiment of the springtime Earth. There is something about her that just keeps me near. (I don;t want to rehash what others have so eloquently written, so please be sure to check out the hyperlinks I’ve included.) Eostre is a Goddess who I introduced to my son when he was quite young, so once again, I am having a fun, child-friendly Ostara celebration. I like to make a point of doing something at each point of the Wheel for my son, but Ostara is such an easy one for me since I grew up with all the springtime trappings of Easter.

Here is my invocation that I wrote several years ago for the Goddess. Happy Equinox!!

Goddess Eostre
Lady of spring
With voices full it is to you we sing!
Oh, Maiden of blossoms
In colors of every hue
As bees buzz and waters flow
Be with us now and wherever we go!
Queen of sunshine, clouds, and rain
Come to our celebration and here remain!
Lady of rabbit, deer, and fox
Be here with us now at our equinox!

Blessings of the Green,
~Hayley

Parade of Rabbits of the Rainbow by Pamela Silin-Palmer
I have this card framed in my home. I just love it!

Leave a comment